Tags

, ,

I read somewhere that ninety percent of jobs in the U.S. are filled via internal promotion or referral. It’s not a stretch to consider that the other ten percent are either jobs that require very specific skills that are not easy to come by or are the sort of job that anyone can do, and thus are inundated with applications, or nobody wants to do on account of low compensation or unfavorable conditions. Cultivating and maintaining a strong professional network is crucial to success in today’s economy.

With that in mind I did some more reaching out today on my job search. For the umpteenth time I had multiple people suggesting one company in particular, the very same company that I had interviewed with back in March and was turned down from. So, I’m giving it another shot. This time I don’t have another offer in the wings going in so I’ll be hungrier for it if I land another interview(also literally hungrier as I haven’t been able to go grocery shopping in a while).

~Brad